The Signpost

I look into her eyes and I see fear

I look into her eyes and I see courage

I look into her eyes and I see love

I look into her eyes and I see indifferenceImage

I look into her eyes and I see confusion

I look into her eyes and I see certainty

The world sees self sufficiency, she feels incapable

The world sees strength, she feels weak

The world sees wisdom, she feels foolish

The world sees Godliness, she feels sinful

She knows what she ought to do, to better herself

She knows how to do it

Like a signpost, she’s pointed the way for so many others

But for herself, she has trouble moving

Who will lead her to take those crucial steps?

Who will be her illumination?

Who will help her?

Who will save her?

Who will teach my best friend to teach herself what she teaches?

One thought on “The Signpost

Leave a Reply

