Dusk 20: Reniy

nostalgic words of future me

It’s Morenike’s turn on the roulette. Give it up for the madame…

_____

November 2014.

I’m all dressed up. It’s a big day. It’s the start of the rest of my life. I look lovingly at my shiny new blonde wig and smiled softly. It took me six long years to earn the privilege of wearing it. Pity I’m not going to make a habit of it.

My phone rings. It’s my mother. She must be done already. “Hey Mom, what’s up?” She unleashes the prayers and as I respond appropriately, a wave if gratitude and relief washes over me. Where would I be without her? Today is a big day for her as much as it is for me. Today is the day I become a Barrister and Solicitor of the Supreme Court of Nigeria.

Present day.

I’m not big on New Year Resolutions. So obviously, I have none…

View original post 209 more words

Leave a Reply

